Skip to Content

Southeast Conservation Adaptation Strategy

Partners

Environmental issues from urbanization to climate change extend beyond state boundaries and are outside the scope of any one agency to address. Through SECAS, federal and state agencies and regional partnerships are leveraging resources to coordinate conservation actions and invest in cost-effective science to achieve a connected network of landscapes and seascapes that supports fish and wildlife populations and improve quality of life for people. SECAS was initiated by states of the Southeastern Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies and the federal Southeast Natural Resource Leaders Group.

State Partners

The following states are involved through the Southeastern Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies (SEAFWA):

Alabama

Charles F. Sykes, Director Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries Division
Department of Conservation & Natural Resources
64 North Union Street, Suite 567
Montgomery, Alabama 35130
Email: chuck.sykes@dcnr.alabama.gov
Phone: 334-242-3465

Arkansas

Jeff Crow, Director Game and Fish Commission
2 Natural Resources Drive
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205
Email: jeffrey.crow@agfc.ar.gov
Phone: 800-364-4263

Florida

Nick Wiley, Executive Director Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
Email: nick.wiley@MyFWC.com
Phone: 850-488-2975

Georgia

Rusty Garrison, Director Wildlife Resources Division Department of Natural Resources
2070 U.S. Highway 278 Southeast
Social Circle, Georgia 30025
Email: rusty.garrison@dnr.ga.gov
Phone: 770-918-6401

Kentucky

Gregory K. Johnson, Commissioner Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources
1 Sportsman’s Lane
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Email: gregoryk.johnson@ky.gov
Phone: 502-564-3400

Louisiana

Jack Montoucet
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, P.O. Box 98000
2000 Quail Dr. Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70898
Email: jmontoucet@wlf.la.gov
Phone: 1-800-256-2749 | (225) 765-2800

Mississippi

Sam Polles, Executive Director Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks
1505 Eastover Drive
Jackson, Mississippi 39211
Email: donniet@mdwfp.state.ms.us
Phone: 601-432-2013

Missouri

Sara Parker Pauley, Director Department of Conservation
PO Box 180
2901 West Truman Boulevard
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
Email: sara.pauley@mdc.mo.gov
Phone: 573-522-4115

North Carolina

Gordon Myers, Director Wildlife Resources Commission
1701 Mail Center
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699
Email: gordon.myers@ncwildlife.org
Phone: 919-707-0016

Oklahoma

J.D. Strong, Director Department of Wildlife Conservation
1801 North Lincoln
PO Box 53465
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
Email: jd.strong@odwc.ok.gov
Phone: 405-521-4660

Puerto Rico

Carmen Guerrero Perez, Director Department of Natural & Environmental Resources
Bureau of Fish and Wildlife
PO Box 366147
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936
Email: cguerrero@drna.gobierno.pr
Phone: 787-723-3090

South Carolina

Alvin Taylor, Director Department of Natural Resources
Rembert C. Dennis Building
PO Box 167
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
Email: taylora@dnr.sc.gov
Phone: 803-734-4007

Tennessee

Ed Carter, Executive Director Wildlife Resources Agency
PO Box 40747
Nashville, Tennessee 37204
Email: ed.carter@tn.gov
Phone: 615-781-6552

Texas

Ross Melinchuk, Deputy Executive Director, Natural Resources, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Road
Austin, TX 78744
Email: ross.melinchuk@tpwd.texas.gov
Phone: 512-389-4868

West Virginia

Paul Johansen, Chief Wildlife Resources Section Department of Natural Resources
324 Fourth Avenue, Room 305
South Charleston, West Virginia 25303
Email: paul.r.johansen@wv.gov
Phone: 304-558-2771

Regional Partnerships

Appalachian Landscape Conservation Cooperative (APPLCC)

Jean Brennan, PhD, Coordinator & Science Coordination
c/o National Conservation Training Center
698 Conservation Way, 1-W230
Shepardstown, WV 25443
Email:  jean_brennan@fws.gov
Phone: (540) 553-4337
Website: applcc.org

Caribbean Landscape Conservation Cooperative (CLCC)

Kasey Jacobs, Partnership & Communications Coordinator
c/o International Institute of Tropical Forestry
1201 Calle Ceiba, Jardín Botánico Sur
San Juan PR 00926-1119
Email: kaseyrjacobs@caribbeanlcc.org
Phone: (787) 766-5335
Website: caribbeanlcc.org

Gulf Coastal Plains & Ozarks Landscape Conservation Cooperative (GCPOLCC)

Greg Wathen, Coordinator
c/o Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
440 Hogan Rd. Nashville, TN 37220
Email: greg.wathen@tn.gov
Phone: 615-781-6610
Website: gcpolcc.org

Gulf Coast Prairie Landscape Conservation Cooperative (GCPLCC)

Bill Bartush, Coordinator
700 Cajundome Blvd.
Lafayette, LA 70506
Email: bill_bartush@fws.gov
Phone: (337) 266-8816
Website: gulfcoastprairielcc.org

Peninsular Florida Landscape Conservation Cooperative (PFLCC)

Todd E. Hopkins, Ph.D, Coordinator
1339 20th Street
Vero Beach FL, 32960-3559
Phone: (772) 469-4289
Email: todd_hopkins@fws.gov
Website: peninsularfloridalcc.org

South Atlantic Landscape Conservation Cooperative (SALCC)

Mallory Martin, Coordinator
1751 Varsity Drive, Room 217
Raleigh, NC 27606
Email: mallory_martin@fws.gov
Phone: (919) 707-0121
Website: southatlanticlcc.org

Southeast Aquatic Resources Partnership (SARP)

Dr. Jessica Graham, Coordinator
2123 Hwy 278 SE
Social Circle, Georgia 30025
Email: jessica@southeastaquatics.net
Phone: (850) 769-0552 ext. 229
Website: southeastaquatics.net

Southeastern Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies (SEAFWA)

Curtis R. Hopkins, PhD, Executive Secretary
27 Sylwood Place
Jackson, Mississippi 39209
Email: crayhopkins@bellsouth.net
Phone: (601) 668-6916
Website: seafwa.org

Southeast Climate Science Center

North Carolina State University
127 David Clark Labs, Campus Box 7617
Raleigh, North Carolina 27695
Email: alascur@ncsu.edu
Phone: (919) 515-7687
Website: globalchange.ncsu.edu/secsc

Southeast Natural Resource Leadership Workgroup (SENRLG)

Federal Partners

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Regional Director, Mike Celata
Deputy Regional Director, Barry Obiol
Gulf of Mexico Region
1201 Elmwood Park Blvd.
New Orleans, LA 70123-2394
Email: michael.celata@boem.gov
Phone: 504-736-2592
Regional Director Secretary, Mary Sandolph, 504-736-2592
Executive Committee Member – Tershara Matthews, Environmental Assessment Section, 504-736-2676

Department of Defense

Regional Environmental and Energy Office
Southern DoD Regional Environmental Coordinator, Susan Gibson
USACE South Atlantic Division
60 Forsyth Street, Room 10M15
Atlanta, GA 30303
Email: susan.p.gibson2@usace.army.mil
Phone: 404-562-5146
Executive Committee Member - Cynthia Jester; Army Regional Energy Coordinator, 404-562-5231

Environmental Protection Agency

Deputy Regional Administer, Ann Heard
61 Forsyth St., SW
Atlanta, GA 30303-8960
Email: Heard.Anne@epa.gov
Phone: 404-562-8357
Special Assistant, Shea Jones-Johnson, 404-562-8206
Executive Committee Member: Rick Dubrow, Acting Senior Sustainability Advisor, 404-562-8286

Federal Emergency Management Agency

Regional Administrator, Gracia Szczech
Deputy Regional Administrator, Robert Samaan
3003 Chamblee Tucker Road
Atlanta, GA 30341
Email: gracia.szczech@fema.dhs.gov
Phone: 770-220-5264
Administrative Officer, Denise Harris, 770-220-5222
Executive Committee Member - Stephanie Madson, Regional Environmental Officer, 404-561-9503

Federal Highway Administration

Director of Field Services – South, Darrell Turner
61 Forsyth St., SW
Suite 17T26
Atlanta, GA 30303
Email: derrell.turner@dot.gov
Phone: 404-562-3574
Executive Committee Member - Kevin Moody, Ecologist; 404-562-3618

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration - National Marine Fisheries Service

Regional Administrator, Roy Crabtree
Deputy Regional Administrator, Andy Strelcheck
236 13th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Email: roy.crabtree@noaa.gov
Phone: 727-824-5301
Administrative Assistant, Shelley Sotir, 727-551-5705
Executive Committee Member: Virginia Fay, Assistant Regional Administrator for Habitat Conservation; 727-551-5739

National Park Service

Regional Director, Stan Austin
Deputy Regional Director, Sherri Fields
100 Alabama St., SW
1924 Building
Atlanta, GA 30303
Email: stan_austin@nps.gov
Phone: 404-507-5604
Executive Assistant, Whitney Howeth, 404-507-5604
Executive Committee member - Darrell Echols, Chief, Science & Natural Resources Division, 404-507-5807

Natural Resource Conservation Service

Regional Conservationist-Southeast, James Tillman
1400 Independence Ave., SW, Room 6103
Washington, DC 20250
Email: james.tillman@wdc.usda.gov
Phone: 202-690-2198

Tennessee Valley Authority

Vice President, Natural Resources, Rebecca Tolene
400 West Summit Hill Drive
Knoxville, TN 37902
Email: rctolene@tva.gov
Phone: 865-632-4433
Executive Committee Member: Evan R. Crews, Senior Manager, Reservoir Property and Resource Management
ercrews@tva.gov 423-876-6711

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Commander, BG C. David Turner
Director of Programs, Alvin C. Lee
60 Forsyth St., SW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Email: clarence.d.turner@usace.army.mil
Phone: 404-568-5006
Executive Officer, JoAnne Crawford, 404-562-5005
Executive Committee member – Deborah Hesse Scerno, Water Resources Planner, South Atlantic Division; 202-761-5451

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Southeast Region)

Michael Oetker, Acting Regional Director
1875 Century Blvd., Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30345
Email: michael_oetker@fws.gov
Phone: (404) 679-4000

U.S. Forest Service

Regional Forester, Tony Tooke
Deputy Regional Forester, Ken Arney
1720 Peachtree Road NW
Suite 760 S.
Atlanta, GA 30309
Email: ttooke@fs.fed.us
Phone: 404-347-4177
Administrative Assistant, Silvia Molina, 404-347-4177
Executive Committee Member: Don Duerr, Director, Forest Health Protection, 404-347-2719

U.S. Geological Survey

Regional Director, Holly Weyers
Deputy Regional Director, Marge Davenport
1770 Corporate Drive, Suite 500
Norcross, GA 30093
Email: hsweyers@usgs.gov
Phone: 678-924- 6609 (cell: 919-801- 4346)
Executive Committee Member: Marge Davenport, Deputy Regional Director, 678-924-6608